banner

Academic Calendar

Academic Calendar 2024

January to June 2024 (UG)
Schedule Date (Semester II, IV, VI, VIII & X)
Commencement of Classes Tuesday, 02 January
Declaration of Monthly Attendance 10th day of following Month
Dates of Continuous Evaluation Submissions/Presentations/Tests Dates (Click here)
Publication of Pre-End Semester Marks Friday, 19 April
Last Teaching Day Tuesday, 16 April
Declaration of Final Attendance Friday, 19 April
End-Term Examination Saturday, 20 April - Wednesday, 01 May
Commencement of Internship Thursday, 02 May
Declaration of Results Wednesday, 19 June
Re-opening for the next Semester Monday, 01 July (Except for IX Semester)
January to June 2024 (PG)
Schedule Date (Semester II)
Commencement of Classes Tuesday, 02nd January 2024
Declaration of Monthly Attendance 10th day of following Month
Presentation of Dissertation Synopsis (Before the Respective Supervisor) Friday, 12th January 2024
Revised Final Submission of Dissertation Synopsis Monday, 29th January 2024 (To CPGLS & Copy to respective Faculty-Supervisor)
Dates of Continuous Evaluation Submissions/Presentations/Tests Dates (Click here)
Publication of Pre-End Semester Marks Friday, 19th April 2024
Last Teaching Day Friday, 19th April 2024
Declaration of Final Attendance Saturday, 20th April 2024
End-Term Examination Monday, 22nd April 2024 - Saturday, 04th May 2024
Pre-Submission Presentation of Dissertation with Plagiarism Report Friday, 17th May 2024
Final Submission of Dissertation Thursday, 30th May 2024
Dissertation Viva Voce (Tentatively Monday, 03rd June - Friday, 07th June 2024)
Declaration of Results Wednesday, 19th June 2024
Orientation Programme for Semester-I Monday, 08th July and Tuesday, 09th July 2024
Commencement of Classes of Semester-I Wednesday, 10th July 2024

Notes:

  • The Academic Calendar is subject to change. For any query, kindly contact Office of the Registrar: registrar@gnlu.ac.in
July to December 2024 (UG)*
Schedule Date (Semester I, III, V, VII, & IX)
Commencement of Classes Monday, 01 July (Semesters III, V and VII)
Saturday, 06 July (Semester I)
Thursday, 01 August (Semester IX)
Declaration of Monthly Attendance 10th day of the following month
Dates of Continuous Evaluation Submissions/Presentations/Tests To be notified by Class Coordinators
Publication of Pre-End Semester Marks Friday, 18 October
Last Teaching Day Wednesday, 16 October
Declaration of Final Attendance Friday, 18 October
End-Term Examination Saturday, 19 October - Wednesday, 30 October
Commencement of  Internship Friday, 1 November
Declaration of Results Monday, 16 December
Re-opening for the next Semester Thursday, 2 January 2025

Note:

  • The Academic Calendar is subject to change. For any query, kindly contact Office of the Registrar: registrar@gnlu.ac.in
  • *UG classes for semester I, III, V and VII start in July, and classes for semester IX start in August
List of Public Holidays – 2024
PART-I: List of Holidays - 2024
Sr. No. Day Date Festival
1 Monday
01 January
New Year Day
2 Friday
26 January Republic Day
3 Friday
08 March Maha Shivaratri 
4 Monday 25 March Holi
5 Friday
29 March
Good Friday
6 Wednesday 10 April Chetichand
7 Thursday
11 April
Ramjan- Eid (Eid-UL-Fitra)
8 Wednesday 17 April Shri Ram Navami
9 Friday 10 May Bhagvan Shree Parasuram Jayanti
10 Monday 17 June Bakri- Eid- (Eid- Ul- Adha)
11 Wednesday 17 July Muharram
12 Thursday 15 August Independence Day, Parsi New Year Day
13 Monday 19 August Raksha Bandhan
14 Monday 26 August Janmashtami
15 Saturday 07 September Samvatsari
16 Monday 16 September Eid-e- Meeladunnabi
17 Wednesday 02 October Mahatma Gandhi’s Birthday
18 Thursday 31 October Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel’s Birthday, Diwali
19 Saturday 02 November Vikram Samvat New Year Day
20 Friday
15 November Guru Nanak’s Birthday
21 Wednesday
25 December Christmas

Note:

  • Weekly holiday: Sunday.
  • 1st and 3rd Saturdays will be Non-Teaching Working Days.
  • 2nd, 4th and 5th Saturdays will be Holidays.

Holidays falling on 2nd / 4th / 5th Saturdays and Sundays
Sr. No. Day Date Festival
1 Sunday 14 January Makar Sankranti
2 Sunday 14 April Dr. Baba Saheb Ambedkar’s Birthday
3 Sunday
21 April Mahavir Janma Kalyanak
4 Saturday 12 October Dusshera
5 Sunday
3 November
Bhai Bij

PART-II: List of Restricted Holidays – 2024

The following are the Restricted Holidays recognised by Government of Gujarat for the year 2024 in addition to those notified in Part- I as public Holidays.

Sr. No. Day Date Festival
1 Monday 15 January Vassi Uttarayan
2 Wednesday 17 January Guru Govindsingh’s Birthday
3 Thursday 22 February Vishvakarma Jayanti (Maha Sud-13)
4 Saturday 24 February Saint Shirommani Ravidasji’s Birthday
5 Monday 26 February Shab-e- Barat
6 Tuesday 27 February Birthday of Dhani Matang Dev
7 Thursday 21 March Jamshedi Navroz (Parsi Shahenshahi & Parsi Kadmi)
8 Monday 01April Shahadat-e-Hazarat Ali
9 Tuesday
09 April
Gudi Padvo (Chaitra Sud-1)
10 Friday 12 April Ramjan- Id (Id- Ul- Fitra)
11 Monday 22 April Hatkeshvar Jayanti, Zarthost- no- Disho (Parsi Kadami)
12 Tuesday 23 April Hanuman Jayanti (Chaitra Sud-15), Pesah (1st day) (Yahudi)
13 Saturday 04 May Maha Prabhuji’s Praktyotsava (Vallabhacharya Jayanti)
14 Wednesday
22 May
Zarthost-no-Disho (Parsi Shahenshahi)
15 Thursday
23 May
Budhha Pumima (Vaishakh Sud-15)
16 Monday
10 June
Guru Arjundev's Martyrdom Day
17 Wednesday
12 June
Shavuoth (Yahudi)
18 Saturday
13 July
Gatha Gahamber (Gatha-III) (Parsi Kadmi)
19 Monday
15 July
Parsi New Year Day Eve (Gatha- V) (Parsi Kadmi)
20 Tuesday
16 July
9th Muharram, Parsi New Year Day
21 Friday
09 August
International Day of the World’s Indigenous Peoples
22 Monday
12 August
Gatha Gahamber (Gatha-III) (Parsi Shahenshahi)
23 Tuesday
13 August
Tisha- be-aav (Yahudi)
24 Wednesday
14 August
Parsi New Year Day Eve (Gatha- V) (Parsi Shahenshahi)
25 Tuesday
20 August
Khordad Sal (Parsi Shahenshahi)
26 Tuesday
27 August
Nand Utsav (Shravan Vad-9)
27 Saturday
31 August
Shravan Vad-12(Paryusan 1st Day) (Chaturthi.Paksha)
28 Monday
02 September
Shahadat-e-Imam Hasan
29 Wednesday
04 September
Mahavir Swami Janma Vachan (Chaturthi Paksha)
30 Saturday
07 September
Ganesh Chaturthi (Bhadarva Sud-4)
31 Saturday
21 September
Id-e-Maulud
32 Thursday
03 October
Rosh Hashanah (1st Day) (New Year) (Yahudi)
33 Friday
11 October
Eve of Kippur (Yahudi)
34 Saturday
12 October
Yom Kippur (Yahudi)
35 Thursday
17 October
Succoth (Yahudi)
36 Tuesday
29 October
Dhan Terash
37 Wednesday
30 October
Kali Chaudash
38 Friday
15 November
Dev- Diwali (Kartak Sud- 15)
39 Wednesday
11 December
Shrimad Bhagwad Gita Jayanti
40 Thursday
26 December
Boxing Day (Next Day to Christmas)

Notes:

  • The University Employees may avail maximum any two of the holidays on the festival occasions mentioned above at their option, irrespective of their religious denomination. Permission for availing of these optional holidays should however be applied in advance. It will be granted by the Officer competent to grant casual leave with due regard to the necessities of the University work. This leave of two days taken by the University employees at their discretion on the festival of their choice will not be debited to their casual leave account.