banner

Academic Calendar

Academic Calendar 2023

January to June 2023 (UG)
Schedule Date (Semester II, IV, VI, VIII & X)
Commencement of Classes Monday, 16th January
Declaration of Monthly Attendance 10th day of following Month
Dates of Continuous Evaluation Submissions/Presentations/Tests To be notified by the Class Coordinators
Publication of Pre-End Semester Marks Friday, 28th April
Last Teaching Day Thursday, 27th April
Declaration of Final Attendance Friday, 28th April
End-Term Examination Monday, 1st May- Saturday, 13th May
Commencement of Summer Vacation/Internship Break Monday, 15th May
Declaration of Results Friday, 16th June
Re-opening for the next Semester Monday, 03rd July (Except for IX Semester)
January to June 2023 (PG)
Schedule Date (Semester II)
Commencement of Classes Monday, 16th January
Declaration of Monthly Attendance 10th day of following Month
Presentation of Dissertation Synopsis (Before the Respective Supervisor) Friday, 10th February
Revised Final Submission of Dissertation Synopsis Monday, 20th February (To CPGLS & Copy to respective Faculty-Supervisor)
Dates of Continuous Evaluation Submissions/Presentations/Tests Dates (Click here) to be notified
Publication of Pre-End Semester Marks Friday, 28th April
Last Teaching Day Thursday, 27th April
Declaration of Final Attendance Friday, 28th April
Preparatory Leave for End-Term Examination Thursday, 27th April – Sunday, 30th April
End-Term Examination Monday 1st May – Saturday 13th May
Pre-Submission Presentation of Dissertation with Plagiarism Report Saturday, 20th May
Final Submission of Dissertation Wednesday, 5th July
Dissertation Viva Voce (Tentatively Thursday, 20th July - Tuesday, 25th July)
Declaration of Results To be notified by Exam Dept.

Notes:

  • The Academic Calendar is subject to change. For any query, kindly contact Office of the Registrar: registrar@gnlu.ac.in
July to December 2023 (UG)*
Schedule Date (Semester I, III, V, VII, & IX)
Commencement of Classes Monday, 03rd July (Semester I, III, V and VII)
Tuesday, 01st August (Semester IX)
Declaration of Monthly Attendance 10th day of following month
Dates of Continuous Evaluation Submissions/Presentations/Tests To be notified by Class Coordinators
Publication of Pre-End Semester Marks Monday, 23rd October
Last Teaching Day Friday, 20th October
Declaration of Final Attendance Monday, 23rd October
End-Term Examination Thursday, 26th October - Thursday, 09th November
Commencement of Compulsory Internship followed by Winter Vacation Monday, 13th November
Declaration of Results Friday, 15th December
Re-opening for the next Semester Tuesday, 2nd January 2024

Note:

  • The Academic Calendar is subject to change. For any query, kindly contact Office of the Registrar: registrar@gnlu.ac.in
  • *UG classes for semester I, III, V and VII commence in the month of July and classes for semester IX commence in the month of August
July to December 2023 (PG)
Note: Academic Calendar for Semester - I of LLM 2023 Batch will be notified in due course of time subject to information under CLAT.

Notes:

  • The Academic Calendar is subject to change. For any query, kindly contact Office of the Registrar: registrar@gnlu.ac.in
List of Public Holidays – 2023
PART-I: List of Holidays - 2023
Sr. No. Day Date Festival
1 Thursday 26 January Republic Day
2 Saturday 18 February Maha Shivaratri (Maha vad-14)
3 Wednesday 08 March Holi
4 Wednesday 22 March Chetichand
5 Thursday 30 March Shri Ram Navami
6 Tuesday 04 April Mahavir Janma Kalyanak
7 Friday 07 April Good Friday
8 Friday 14 April Dr. Baba Saheb Ambedkar’s Birthday
9 Thursday 29 June Bakri- Eid- (Eid- Ul- Adha)
10 Tuesday 15 August Independence Day
11 Wednesday 16 August Parsi New Year Day
12 Wednesday 30 August Raksha Bandhan
13 Thursday 07 September Janmashtami
14 Tuesday 19 September Samvatsari
15 Thursday 28 September Eid-e- Meeladunnabi
16 Monday 02 October Mahatma Gandhi’s Birthday
17 Tuesday 24 October Dusshera
18 Monday 31 October Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel’s Birthday
19 Tuesday 14 November Vikram Samvat New Year Day
20 Wednesday 15 November Bhai Bij
21 Monday 27 November Guru Nanak’s Birthday
22 Monday 25 December Christmas

Note:

  • Weekly holiday: Sunday.
  • 1st and 3rd Saturdays will be Non-Teaching Working Days.
  • 2nd, 4th and 5th Saturdays will be Holidays.

Holidays falling on 2nd / 4th / 5th Saturdays and Sundays
Sr. No. Day Date Festival
1 Saturday 14 January Makar Sankranti
2 Saturday 22 April Bhagvan Shri Parasuram Jayanti/ Ramjan-Eid (Eid-UL-Fitra)
3 Saturday 29 July Muharram
4 Sunday 12 November Diwali

PART-II: List of Restricted Holidays – 2023

The following are the Restricted Holidays recognised by Government of Gujarat for the year 2023 in addition to those notified in Part- I as public Holidays.

Sr. No. Day Date Festival
1 Friday 03 February Vishvakarma Jayanti (Maha Sud-13)
2 Wednesday 08 February Birthday of Dhani Matang Dev
3 Tuesday 07 March Holi
4 Wednesday 08 March Shab-e-Barat (Muslim Shiya & Sunni)
5 Tuesday 21 March Jamshedi Navroz (Parsi Shahenshahi & Parsi Kadmi)
6 Wednesday 22 March Gudi Padvo (Chaitra Sud-1)
7 Wednesday 05 April Hatkeshvar Jayanti
8 Thursday 06 April Hanuman Jayanti (Chaitra Sud-15)/Pesah (1st day) (Yahudi)
9 Thursday 13 April Shahadat-e-Hazarat Ali (Muslim Shiya)
10 Tuesday 25 April Shree Adhya Jagadguru Shankaracharya Jayanti (Vaishakh Sud-5)
11 Friday 05 May Budhha Pumima (Vaishakh Sud-15)
12 Tuesday 23 May Zarthost-no-Disho (Parsi Shahenshahi)/ Guru Arjundev's Martyrdom Day
13 Friday 26 May Shavuoth (Yahudi)
14 Tuesday 20 June Rathayatra (Ashadhi bij) (Ashadh Sud-2)
15 Friday 14 July Gatha Gahamber (Gatha-III) (Parsi Kadmi)
16 Monday 17 July Parsi New Year Day (Parsi Kadmi)
17 Friday 28 July Tisha-be-aav (Yahudi)/ 9th Muharram (Muslim Shiya & Sunni)
18 Wednesday 09 August International Day of the World’s Indigenous Peoples
19 Tuesday 15 August Parsi New Year Day Eve (Gatha-V) (Parsi Shahenshahi)
20 Monday 21 August Khordad Sal (Parsi Shahenshahi)
21 Tuesday 29 August Onam
22 Friday 08 September Nand Utsav (Shravan Vad-9)
23 Tuesday 12 September Shravan Vad-12(Paryusan 1st Day) (Chaturthi Paksha)
24 Wednesday 13 September Shravan Vad-13 (Paryusan 1st Day) (Panchami Paksha)
25 Thursday 14 September Shahadat-e-Imam Hasan (Muslim Shiya)
26 Saturday 16 September Mahavir Swami Janma Vachan (Chaturthi Paksha)/ Rosh Hashanah (1st Day) (New Year) (Yahudi)
27 Tuesday 19 September Ganesh Chaturthi (Bhadarva-Sud-4)
28 Wednesday 20 September Samvatsari (Panchami.Paksha)
29 Monday 25 September Yom Kippur (Yahudi)
30 Tuesday 03 October Id-e-Maulud (Muslim Shiya)
31 Friday 10 November Dhan Terash
32 Monday 27 November Kartak Sud-15 (Dev-Diwali)
33 Friday 22 December Shrimad Bhagwad Gita Jayanti
34 Tuesday 26 December Boxing Day (Next Day to Christmas)

Notes:

  • The University Employees may avail maximum any two of the holidays on the festival occasions mentioned above at their option, irrespective of their religious denomination. Permission for availing of these optional holidays should however be applied in advance and will be granted by the Officer competent to grant casual leave with due regard to the exigencies of the University work. This leave of two days taken by the University employees at their discretion on the festival of their choice will not be debited to their casual leave account.
Academic Calendar 2022 (UG & PG) - | UG PDF File | | UG JPG File |