banner

Academic Calendar

Academic Calendar 2021

January to June 2021 (UG)
Schedule Date (Semester II, IV, VI, VIII & X)
Commencement of Classes Monday, 15 February, 2021
Declaration of Monthly Attendance 10th day of following Month
Dates of Continuous Evaluation Submissions/Presentations/Tests Dates (Click here)
Publication of Pre-End Semester Marks Monday, 17 May, 2021
Last Teaching Day Tuesday, 18 May, 2021
Declaration of Final Attendance Tuesday, 18 May, 2021
Preparatory Leave for End-Term Examination Wednesday, 19 May, 2021
End-Term Examination Thursday, 20 May – Monday, 31 May, 2021
Commencement of Summer Vacation /Internship Break Tuesday, 1 June, 2021
Declaration of Results Wednesday, 30 June, 2021
Re-opening for the next Semester Monday, 12 July, 2021 (Except for IX Semester)
January to June 2021 (PG)
Schedule Date (Semester II)
Commencement of Classes Monday, 15 February, 2021
Declaration of Monthly Attendance 10th day of following Month
Presentation of Dissertation Synopsis Monday, 22 February - Friday, 26 February, 2021
Revised Final Submission of Dissertation Synopsis Friday, 5 March, 2021
Submission to CPGLS Dept., & Faculty-Supervisors
Dates of Continuous Evaluation Submissions/Presentations/Tests Dates (Click here)
Publication of Pre-End Semester Marks Thursday, 27 May, 2021
Last Teaching Day Friday, 28 May, 2021
Declaration of Final Attendance Friday, 28 May, 2021
Preparatory Leave for End-Term Examination Saturday, 29 May - Sunday, 30 May, 2021
End-Term Examination Monday, 31 May - Saturday, 12 June, 2021
Dates will be notified by the Exam Committee
Pre-Submission Presentation of Dissertation with Plagiarism Report Monday 21 June –Friday 25 June, 2021
Final Submission of Dissertation Wednesday 7 July, 2021
Dissertation Viva Voce Thursday 22 July – Sunday 25 July
External Experts Panel
Declaration of Results To be notified by Exam Dept.

Notes:

  • The Academic Calendar is subject to change. For any query, kindly contact Office of the Registrar: registrar@gnlu.ac.in
July to December 2021 (UG)*
Schedule Date (Semester I) Date (Semester III, V and VII) Date (Semester IX)
Commencement of Classes ** Monday, 12 July, 2021 Monday, 2 August, 2021
Declaration of Monthly Attendance 10th day of following month
Dates of Continuous Evaluation Submissions / Presentations/Tests To be notified
Mid-Term Test Monday, 13 - Saturday, 18 September, 2021 Wednesday, 15 - Saturday, 18 September, 2021
Declaration of Mid-Term Test Results Tuesday, 12 October, 2021 Tuesday, 12 October, 2021
Publication of Pre-End Semester Marks Monday, 11 October, 2021 Friday, 22 October, 2021
Last Teaching Day Monday, 18 October, 2021 Tuesday, 26 October, 2021
Preparatory Leave for End-Term Examination Tuesday, 19 October, 2021 Wednesday, 27-Thursday, 28 October, 2021
Declaration of Final Attendance Monday, 18 October, 2021 Thursday, 28 October, 2021
End-Term Examination Wednesday, 20 October – Tuesday, 2 November, 2021 Friday, 29 October - Tuesday, 2 November, 2021
Commencement of Compulsory Internship followed by Winter Vacation Wednesday, 03 November, 2021
Declaration of Results Tuesday, 07 December, 2021
Re-opening for the next Semester Monday, 03 January 2022

Notes:

  • The Academic Calendar is subject to change. For any query, kindly contact Office of the Registrar: registrar@gnlu.ac.in
  • * UG classes for semester III, V and VII start in the month of July and classes for semester IX start in the month of August.
  • ** Pursuant to CLAT schedule, the commencement of classes for the Semester I will be announced.
List of Holidays – 2021
PART-I
Sr. No. Day Date Festival
1 Friday 01 January New Year Day
2 Thursday 14 January Makar Sankranti
3 Tuesday 26 January Republic Day
4 Thursday 11 March Maha Shivratri
5 Monday 29 March Holi
6 Friday 2 April Good Friday
7 Tuesday 13 April Chetichand
8 Wednesday 14 April Dr. Baba Saheb Ambedkar’s Birthday
9 Wednesday 21 April Shree Ram Navami
10 Friday 14 May Bhagvan Shree Parashuram Jayanti/ Ramja- Eid
11 Wednesday 21 July Bakri-Id
12 Monday 16 August Parsi New Year Day
13 Thursday 19 August Muharram
14 Monday 30 August Janmashtami
15 Friday 10 September Samvatsari/Ganesh Chathurthi
16 Saturday 02 October Mahatma Gandhi’s Birthday
17 Friday 15 October Dusshera
18 Tuesday 19 October Ed-e-Milad-Un-Nabi
19 Thursday 4 November Diwali
20 Friday 5 November Vikram Samvat New Year Day
21 Saturday 6 November Bhai Duj
22 Friday 19 November Guru Nanak’s Birthday

Notes:

  • Weekly holiday: Sunday.
  • 1st and 3rd Saturdays (20th February, 6th and 20th March, 3rd and 17th April, 1st and 15th May of 2021) will be teaching days.
  • 1st and 3rd Saturdays of July-December 2021 Semester will be non-teaching working days.
  • 2nd, 4th and 5th Saturdays will be holidays.
  • 22nd, 23rd, 29th and 30th May, 23rd and 30th October of 2021 will be working Saturdays and Sundays for the conduct of End Term Examinations.

Holidays falling on 2nd / 4th / 5th Saturdays and Sundays
Sr. No. Day Date Festival
1 Sunday 25 April Mahavir Jayanti
2 Sunday 15 August Independence Day
3 Sunday 22 August Raksha Bandhan
4 Sunday 31 October Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel’s Birthday
5 Saturday 25 December Christmas

PART-II

The following are the Restricted Holidays recognised by Government of Gujarat for the year 2021 in addition to those notified in Part- I as public Holidays.

Sr. No. Day Date Festival
1 Friday 15 January Vassi Uttarayan (Next Day to Makar Sankranti)
2 Wednesday 20 January Guru Govindsingh’s Birthday
3 Thursday 25 February Vishvakarma Jayanti (Maha Sud 13)
4 Saturday 27 February Saint Shiromani Ravidasji’s Birthday
5 Monday 01 March Birthday of Dhani Matang Dev
6 Monday 29 March Shab-e-Barat (Muslim Shiya & Sunni)
7 Tuesday 13 April Gudi Padvo (Chaitra Sud-1)
8 Friday 23 April Zarthost-no-Disho (Parsi Kadami)
9 Monday 26 April Hatkeshvar Jayanti
10 Tuesday 27 April Hanuman Jayanti (Chaitra Sud-15)
11 Tuesday 04 May Shahadat-e-Hazarat Ali (Muslim Shiya)
12 Friday 07 May Maha Prabhuji's Praktyotsava (Vallabhacharya Jayanti)
13 Saturday 15 May Ramjan-Id (Id-Ul-Fitra) (2nd Shawaal-Muslim Shiya & Sunni)
14 Monday 17 May Shree Adhya Jagadguru Shankaracharya Jayanti (Vaishakh Sud-5)
15 Wednesday 26 May Budhha Purnima (Vaishakh Sud-15)
16 Monday 14 June Guru Arjundev's Martyrdom day
17 Monday 12 July Rathayatra (Ashadhi bij) (Ashadh Sud-2)
18 Wednesday 14 July Gatha Gahamber (Gatha-III) (Parsi Kadmi)
19 Friday 16 July Parsi New Year Day Eve (Gatha-V) (Parsi Kadmi)
20 Saturday 17 July Parsi New Year Day (Parsi Kadmi)
21 Thursday 22 July Khordad Sal (Parsi Kadmi)
22 Monday 09 August International Day of the World's Indigenous Peoples
23 Friday 13 August Gatha Gahamber (Gatha-III) (Parsi Shahenshahi)
24 Wednesday 18 August 9th Muharram (Muslim Shiya & Sunni)
25 Saturday 21 August Khordad Sal (Parsi Shahenshahi)/Onam
26 Tuesday 31 August Nand Utsav (Shravan Vad-9)
27 Friday 03 September Shravan Vad-11 (Paryusan 1st Day) (Chaturthi.Paksha)
28 Saturday 04 September Shravan Vad-12 (Paryusan 1st Day) (Chaturthi.Paksha)
29 Tuesday 07 September Mahavir Swami Janma Vachan (Chaturthi Paksha)/ Rosh Hashanah (1st Day) (New Year) (Yahudi)
30 Saturday 11 September Samvatsari (Panchami Paksha)
31 Wednesday 15 September Eve of Kippur (Yahudi)
32 Thursday 16 September Yom Kippur (Yahudi)
33 Tuesday 21 September Succoth (Yahudi)
34 Wednesday 06 October Shahadat-e- Imam Hasan (Muslim Shiya)
35 Monday 01 November Vagh Baras ( Aaso Vad- 11 / 12)
36 Tuesday 02 November Dhan Terash ( Aaso Vad- 12 / 13)
37 Wednesday 03 November Kali Chaudash (Aaso Vad- 13/ 14)
38 Friday 19 November Kartak Sud-15 (Dev-Diwali)
39 Tuesday 14 December Shrimad Bhagwad Gita Jayanti

Notes:

  • University Employees may avail of maximum any two of the holidays on the festival occasions mentioned above at their option and irrespective of their religious denomination. Permission for availing of these optional holidays should however be applied for in advance and will normally be granted by the officer competent to grant casual leave with due regard to the exigencies of University work. This leave of two days taken by University Employees at their discretion on the festival of their choice will not be debited to their casual leave account.